Auto Update (Editor Window)
Allows control of whether the patch is automatically sent to the instrument when its window is activated or not. By default it is. This parameter is closely tied to the "Update Patch on Activate" parameter in the Properties Patch Edit Tab. If "Update Patch On Activate" is set On or Off then all Editor Windows use these settings and the Auto Update function is disabled. However, if "Update Patch On Activate" is set to "Custom" then Auto Update will be enabled (default is on). At this point, you are free to set any type of patch (eg Wavestation Wavesequences) so that it does not automatically update on window activation. To do this, uncheck Auto Update.
Why would you want to do this? Some patches are extremely large and require a notable amount of time to download. If you find that this time lag is interfering with your work, you can disable the auto updating. What effect will this have? Well, you need to watch out for two things. First, when you open the patch it will not be immediately sent to the instrument. You'll need to do this yourself using Midi/Transmit. More importantly, if you are editing two patches of the same type, this could lead to confusion because as you switch back and forth the instrument will not be automatically updated. You run the risk of thinking that you have a result you are happy with but find that the settings that created the patch are split between the two patches you are editing. It is best to turn this function off only if you plan on editing only one patch of that type at a time.
If Auto Update is enabled: